June 8th 1915 Tuesday

Kailana

Chakrata  U. P.

India

My dear Mum & Dad

The letters haven’t come up from Delhi yet, so I will commence this, though no doubt they will arrive this evening. One from Charlie, addressed to Dehra Dun reached me this morning so that shews that our people at Delhi are a bit slow in forwarding them.

One of our fellows received a Gazette by this morning’s post, & I think the photo of our Running Team rather good don’t you.

The last week we have had a spell of very hot weather, of course not so hot as it is on the Plains, but rather warmer than you would like it to be in England & no firing can be done on the Ranges after 10 a.m. The Indian climate is a rum thing isn’t it (though for a Hill Station this is an exceptionally hot Summer.) Evening’s & nights are cold & we occasionally have a fire in the Bungalow.

On returning from the Range I went down & typed out the War Telegram & was most pleased to read Churchill’s remark that “We are within a few miles of a victory such as has not been during the War, & which will make up for all our losses”. Now that looks more hopeful doesn’t it. It is nice to have that today as the English papers which we receive by this Mail will be those giving the account of the loss of the “Lusitania”.

You would be very much surprised to know what wonderful memories the Natives all have. – When I went to Chakrata Post Office the other day I met an old chap who used to be Nappee (Barber) to the 1/4th Wilts when first we came to Kingsway, he said, after several salaams &c “I hope you & all “E” Company men are well.” He is now Nappee to the 1/7th Hants at Chakrata. I think that almost any one of these Camp Attendants could pick any man out of a whole Battallion & tell him what Company he belonged to.

I much hope that “Rajah” is mending his ways with regard to thieving, I hope he & Herbert are in the best of health.

The Battallion Butterfly Club is going strong & some lovely specimens are added to it every Thursday & Sunday, the idea being that when the War is over there shall be a case of them for each of our 8 Company headquarters. Of course for all Regimental & Training purposes our Batt. is only 4 Companys being now on the “Double-Company & Platoon” system, though for postal purposes we are still “E” Company, though really we, with F Company make up “C” Coy viz

A B = A

C D = B

E F = C

G H = D

I mention this in case that you, knowing of the re-arrangement would address me “C” Coy, which as I said, for postal purposes still refers to the old “C” (Trowbridge) Coy

 

Wednesday (Dinner Time)

We got the mail yesterday, but I was much dis-appointed at not hearing from you, perhaps it is registered, for there hasn’t quite been time yet to get a reply to my letter asking you never to register one to me.

I heard from the Aunts, & Pinniger, & had the News of the World alright from you.

We are having some sports this afternoon but as we have only just got in from the Ranges, which is a deuce of a climb I don’t think many of our Company will compete. I entered for the mile, but don’t expect I shall run.

I very much hope you are both in the very best of health as I myself am.

Best love to you both

Ever yours

Jack

This entry was posted in 1915. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment