June 1st 1915

Kailana

Chakrata

My dear Aunts,

So very many thanks for your letters & also for Whitsuntide present, which reached me safely Whit Monday evening. This weeks mail is expected tonight, but its no good to put off writing until it arrives or no time would be left for catching tomorrow’s Mail. I am writing 4 by this Mail viz yours, Floss, Lavington & Calne. I wrote the Calne one on Sunday & hope to write yours & Lavington this evening & Flossie’s tomorrow.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Wiltshire – wish I’d been there to meet you.

The War telegrams of the last few days have been excellent, the Russians advancing well, also the Italians, & the Austrians seem to be running “Hell for Leather”

Kailana is awfully nice now, a bit warm at mid-day, & the Monsoons haven’t started yet. Cholera has left the district, & the Bazaar, Chakrata &c are all now in Bounds again, the 3 of the Hants chaps who had Cholera died, but I am glad to say it spread no further. I understand that it practically wiped out all the inhabitants of a Native Village, so its no wonder that British Troops are never allowed in the Villages isn’t it, the natives of India are really very dirty Devils.

I was very glad Italy came in with us weren’t you. I take it that they had instructions from the British Govt. as to what date they were to commence don’t you?

I expect next week to receive letters addressed direct to Kailana, which will make them about 46 hours earlier, which will be rather a treat.

I was sorry to hear from you & from Lavington that Mollie wasn’t very well, & much hope she is now alright again.

From today’s telegram it looks as though there are good hopes of some form of conscription. I cannot at all understand why Compulsory Service was not introduced at least as early as August 1911. No doubt you recollect the year when the Autumn manoeuvres were cancelled on account of the shortage of water in Cambridgeshire &c.

“Tommy” seems quite busy with her Red ┼ work doesn’t she?

I hope all these German submarines will drive the fish into Weymouth Bay & that they will be afraid to leave it again don’t you. I should just about like to be dangling my legs over the Backwater Dam & shouldn’t care if I didn’t get a bite for a week.

I much hope that you are both as well as I am – if so there wont be much the matter with you.

Ever your loving

Jack

This entry was posted in 1915. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment