25th July 1916

Chaubattia
Almora
India

My dear Mum & Dad

Very many thanks for your letters & for the 10/- Note enclosed.

I am so glad that Herbert turned up again alright, it must have been jolly to get him back after he had been lost for two days & I hope he wont go astray again.

In your letters you said that you saw Archie Baker & Co when they were leaving for Romsey, but everyone else had it in their letters from Home that they had gone straight to the Front. I heard from the letters of other Lavington fellows here that those who went home were sent straight to France being unwilling to join any other Regiment than the 3/4th Wilts. but don’t know if there is any truth in it.

All the men we sent Home as being too old for Service have been sent straight to France so it looks as though we are pretty hard pushed for troops doesn’t it, when men aren’t fit for service out here & get snapped up as soon as they land in England, though I expect that a man who couldn’t stand this Climate might yet be fit for useful work on the Continent, but it makes us wild to think that our Battalion is kept here looking after blasted Niggers whilst whilst the men we invalid home are sent to France, though it is some consolation to know that the 7 Regular battalions who were in India when we landed are still here (the Yorks, Staffords &c) & I guess those Battalions would look a bit different to the present Regular Army wouldn’t they?

The Offensive the last two or three days seems at a bit of a standstill, but no doubt that is to give time for our Artillery to get up.

The Germans are putting up a wonderful resistance considering the pressure on the Eastern Front aren’t they but I much hope they wont have any more successes in regaining the ground that we have won at such an awful cost. One day alone last week I see we had 523 casualties amongst Officers, which would mean also about 16,000 men.

The weather has been a bit better lately & today is nice & bright, though plenty hot enough this afternoon: not the sort of heat you get at Delhi, for of course the sun is nothing like so powerful, but more of a nasty muggy & damp heat.

We (9 & 10 Platoons) were inoculated on Saturday, but beyond having a stiff arm for two days, I didn’t find anything of it, but those who have had Fever or Ague previously have been pretty bad & several had to be carried to Hospital on Saturday night.

It is no White Man’s Country where you keep on having to be Vaccinated, Inoculated & all that sort of job is it? England in spite of wet days is the best Climate in the World for Englishmen can stick India far better than the natives themselves.

I am sorry Doff & Jacky had to return from Weymouth so soon & much hope they are now both alright again, please give my love to the Apps family when you write.

The parcel of fishing tackle hasn’t yet arrived. I hope to do a bit of fishing at Naini Tal (& not go to Bini Tal) as I shall probably go to the former place presently for some new teeth – that’s one good thing isn’t it, to get new “grinders” free gratis & I hope I shan’t stay in India long enough to wear them out on “khaki steaks” &c.

I expect Lavington is awfully pretty at this time of year, though it is a pity that they are felling so much timber, anyhow from my point of view, if they fell every stick, the green grass will make the district far prettier than any part of India that I have seen.

You would both be sick of these darned niggers if you had seen so much of them as I have, for a filthier, cunninger, or more depraved Race couldn’t be imagined. One of our Orderly Room Chaprassee’s is an awful rotter. I generally help him up to the Guard Room with the Confidential Box, but being busy today I told him to take it up himself (which of course he should always do, & he made a nasty remark in Hindustani, thinking that I shouldn’t understand it, so I reported him to the Sergt Major & I’ll bet he gives him a lively time in the future.

That shows what you get by helping them doesn’t it? The silly blighter is a Brahmini with streaks of red & white paint all over his face. If ever I meet a nigger in England I shall be much inclined to kick his back-side – you can’t do so whilst in the Army thanks to the way Lord Curzon “molly-coddled” them.

How is old Wadman? I trust he is better.

I hear that young Draper (1389) who went home Time-Ex has married a girl at Bournemouth, I think he is on Military police work there.

I thought we should have known our Autumn destination before now though I don’t much care where it is. I don’t think we will leave India as the Commander-in-Chief will resign if no more troops are sent out here & the Garrison Battalions have made such a bad impression that a good many of them will shortly be sent Home.

They are a dirty drunken lot & of course in a place like Delhi drunken soldiers falling about all over the place is most detrimental to British control.

If the War were to end this Winter I suppose we ought to get relieved by the late Spring or Summer – don’t guess we will overwork ourselves when once Peace is proclaimed do you?

Long Route Marches & Field Days wouldn’t be very acceptable then would they?

The buttons you sent were just the sort I meant, being a very light brass, & look capital.

I expect Dick will go for his teeth before I do though I expect two or three from Lavington will be there when I am & I am looking forward to an enjoyable outing.

Kind regards to all Lavington & Pewsey friends & best love to yourselves & the two cats.

Hoping you are in the very best of health as it leaves me at present.

xxxxx

Ever your loving

Jack

P.S.

A few nights ago I dreamt about Rajah & Herbert – probably caused by hearing of Herbert’s adventures – I arrived home & there were 3 cats sitting on the lawn waiting for me. I  was quite annoyed that I had never heard of the third one (which was a fine tabby) until you told me that you had written to me about him but the letter must have got to Bombay after I had left.

This entry was posted in 1916. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment