April 18th 1915

Kailana

Chakrata

Northern India

My dear Mum & Dad

Your letter (registered) reached me quite safely, together with the 10/- Note enclosed, for which I must thank you so very much, but by now I hope you have my letter saying that my finances are quite satisfactory, so unless I ask you to do so please do not send any more, for you may be sure that I should be the very last one to stint my inside in order to cut down expenses. Yes the registered letters are a few days delayed, but considering that every letter sent me by anyone has reached me alright without being tampered with, in the event of my wanting any money I don’t really think I should register it.

Poor “Old Cat” I am so sorry you injured your toe, but am awfully pleased that the nail didn’t come off for that is awfully painful & makes it tender for months.

Well perhaps you would like to know something about Kailana & how I got here.

As I told you in my last letter I was to have come in advance, but, better than that, someone had to come that day to take over the stock of the Orderly Room & I was selected for the job, so 5 of us walked to Dehra Dun Station & came up by motor car. When here you can’t realise that a motor could possibly get here for we came up eight thousand feet. The road is cut into the solid rock of the mountains & circles backwards & forwards like this [small diagram showing S bends] up the mountain side. The nearest snow-capped mountains are said to be 38 miles away, but they don’t look further than Lavington hill does from the top of Northbrook Garden. A lot of snow fell on them last night & I can’t describe how lovely they look at sunset, all the snow then being a bright pink.

There are only 28 of us here, including 1 Officer, 1 Sergt, 1 L/Cpl besides myself & 24 men, so it is a bit quiet, though we can get all we want, as the Coffee Shop & Canteen opened the day our 5 arrived.

As regards the scenery round here, I must let that wait until we meet, & that I think & much hope will be in the Autumn don’t you?

I expect I shall be clerk to the (Permanent) Quarter Master Sgt whilst here. He is of course the one who remains here in charge during the Winter.

The last troops here were the Seaforth Highlanders who left for the Front at the end of August. It makes you wonder how many of them are alive when you read the names scribbled on walls & carved on barrack-room tables.

The 6th Hants are coming to Chakrata, & part of the 14th Hussars coming here. I believe these latter are the only British Cavalry in India now, some say that the Kaiser being until August last their Hon. Colonel may have retarded their going to the front – their hat badge is the German Imperial Arms.

I am most pleased to know that Herbert & my Black Friend are well, please give them my best love & a kiss each – I’ll make them purr like thunder when I get back.

I haven’t yet got the Gazette as papers are generally a bit late & of course went from Delhi to Dehra Dun & then have to come on here by Mail tonga (which takes 8 hours, changing ponies every 5 miles). You will tell Mrs & Miss Johnson how sorry I was to hear their sad news – as you will know from my previous letter I read the announcement in the Delhi Pioneer on the same day as it appeared in the English papers, the names of British Officers Casualties come out here by cable & wireless.

I am glad to know that Granny is keeping fit, please give her my love & say I would write oftener, but my letters take a good deal of time for no doubt you both like to have a pretty full account of how we are getting on.

The Civilians of Dehra Dun gave us a capital Concert with refreshments last week. They seem altogether different to the Europeans at Delhi. The latter are a snotty lot & wouldn’t dream of saying “Good-day” to a soldier. Perhaps those living nearer the Frontier realise more fully how in this Country their lives depend on the Military.

Thanks much for the cutting from the “Times” as regards the pay & rations out here, every word of it is more than true especially when first we came here when the food was far worse than it is now.

It seems very funny that by motor in a few hours one can get from the scorching heat of the Plains to a place like this where our heavy khaki overcoats are required after the sun goes down & it is in fact cold all day long. We have had proper Army grey Jerseys issued (we should have had them months ago) & they are capital things up here. I am wearing the one you gave me (from Clappens) before I left & it is nice & warm & I hope will last me as long as I am in this Country, leaving the other one to wear at home.

It is lovely to leave that hot sand, mosquitos &c &c down below us for the climate here is absolutely perfect.

The rest of the ½ Batt. from Dehra Dun is coming up next week & includes all of Lavington Section but about  6  viz:-

Dick Drury    Draper  W H

Sid Lush         Draper   J    and

  1. Hopkins Arch Baker

Of course the Gun Section going back to Delhi made things much better for E Company.

Best love to you both – I hope to write to Tommy.

Numerous kisses to both of you (O.C. had better have the last of the bunch in order to save trouble hadn’t she?)

I am

Ever your own

Jack

xxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment