Monday March 1 1915

Kingsway Camp
Delhi, India

My dear Mum & Dad,

Many thanks for the papers – your letter has gone astray but doubtless I shall have it in a day or two. I rather expected my letters to go wrong this week because I am at the Fort, attached to another Company for a few days, in consequence of their being a lot of work on hand down here just now.

I will put this in an O.H.M.S. envelope for then it wont be interfered with in the event of any letters being censored owing to the disturbance out here.

I don’t know whether anything has appeared in the English papers about it (probably not) but the natives have, as I told you in my last letter, been kicking up now in various districts, not merely the usual Hillmen’s raids which take place at intervals during every year. The whole World seems upset by these d – d Germans doesn’t?

I had a card from Tommy who seems to be having a very busy time, I am of course much looking forward to your letter, but having received the papers I know you are both alright.

I expect to rejoin the Company at Kingsway on Wednesday, & shan’t be sorry, as nearly all my pals are in E Coy. C, F, & H. are now here, and I know very few fellows in either of these except F.

The weather is now getting pretty hot, especially between dinner & tea-time, though inside the Fort it is as yet not really “sweating”. I did a bit of washing at dinner time, & the short time things take to dry would rather surprise anyone in England even in the Summer.

I haven’t troubled to get a paper for the last few days, the war news out here seems so very scanty the last week or so but I reckon we can look forward to some big doings as the weather improves.

I had a letter from the Aunts who both seem to be very well & having a busy time with the Troops at Weymouth.

Col Sgt Thorne shot an enormous crocodile on Thursday, it weighed something over 1000 lbs (between 12 & 13 maunds, 80 lbs to 1 maun) & its guts contained some very nice relics, including a pair of silver bracelets, part of a nigger’s skull & his shirt (with buttons intact) & several pieces of jewelry. A crocodile of that size is rare here, though they are more plentiful further down – where the Jumna joins the Ganges.

This entry was posted in 1915. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment