31 October 1914

H M J Kenilworth Castle (Between Port Soudan & Aden)

My dear Mum & Dad

There is a post to be collected this evening to go ashore at Aden, & as you noticed from my last letter, no stamps are now required if addressed as specified.

It has been roasting hot since leaving Suez, & very few ever go down below at all except for meals, & then the sweat runs down your chest if you have nothing but trousers on.

I am very much enjoying the voyage & have seen several interesting places, including Mount Sinai, & a monument shewing where the Israelites crossed the Red Sea & Pharoah got “snitcho”. Tomorrow we pass Hell’s Gate & should imagine it is a very appropriate name.

I hope you will be able to read this but I am writing with the paper on my knee.

I did not bring either of the photos with me so if you have one to spare perhaps you would send me one of Floss & I together.

I very much hope that you are both quite well & also the animals. Please give my love to Doff & Charlie.

The Russians are going it well aren’t they? We had a wireless message in last night.

There are still a good many sharks & porpoises swimming about, some of the sharks being very large.

I suppose we shall be at Bombay in 8 or 9 days, though we may be a bit longer. This is our 23rd day, so you can guess how fearfully slow we are moving. We were 4 days at Suez on account of the German cruisers in the Indian Ocean. I expect we shall be on sail for a week or 10 days, as we travel by night only.

I am not writing to Milton at all this time so if you see anything of Pinniger you might tell him any news.

We now have no parades (except Ships Inspection at 10a.m.) on account of the heat.

We met two large transports of Indian troops (19 & 17 ships respectively) mainly  for Egypt in case of trouble with Turkey.

All on board are very healthy, but the Dorsets (on the Braemar Castle) have had a lot of ptomaine poisoning & one fellow died in the Mediterranean.

We did a lot of rowing in the lifeboats when at Suez, but didn’t get ashore at all.

With best love to both of you I must now conclude.

Ever yrs affectionately

Jack

No stamps required now until we land if addressed as specified.

This entry was posted in 1914. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment