June 22nd 1916

Chaubattia
Almora  U. P.

My dear Aunts,

The cheese arrived in absolutely perfect condition, not a spot on it. So very, very, many thanks to you for such a lovely present, & the other occupants of my Bungalow also ask me to thank you.

We are in the middle to the large, or “Bara” Monsoon & it pours with rain day & night but we have plenty of firewood (pine trees) which burns very readily & keeps the place tolerably dry.

I am glad that Lloyd George is to succeed Kitchener, for whatever he was before the War he has turned out trumps now & generally makes a success of anything he undertakes doesn’t he?

The War doesn’t seem like ending yet does it, but apparently the Russians have done very well the last few weeks.

I am enclosing you 4 photos and I have written on the backs of them what they are.

When next you are at Lavington no doubt you will see a little set of photos taken on the way out here from England, they are quite a decent lot.

What a busy time you are having with music pupils – Its time you (Aunt Sal) began taking a few of them, guess you & I together would knock some music into (or perhaps out of) them don’t you?

I am glad Wilf is getting on alright but I haven’t much respect for men who didn’t join the Service until forced to.

So very many thanks & best love to you both.

Hoping you are now in the best of health “as it leaves me at present”

Ever your loving

xx   Jack   xx

This entry was posted in 1916. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment